Okay, so the title should say, “Blogging Bloom’s”, but I liked the figurative language picture of little blogging flowers. (I lost a man point on this one, but gained an Early Childhood Class point.) Anyway, I wanted to return to the idea of “How are we using a blog with students in the classroom?” It’s easy to come up with a simple Answer-The-Question blog, but how can we use it to really push learning?

Well, it occured to me this morning, as I was looking at the picture of Benjamin Bloom on the front of the Wheaties box, that using Bloom’s taxonomy for catagorizing questions can be a great reminder for how we are to meet the needs of all students with the same blog post. If my post for today’s literature group work is, “How old is Brian Robeson?”, then everybody commenting after the first two kids can just copy the previous answer. I would get many similar answers if I posed the question, “Tell what happened with Brian’s plane crashed at the beginning of Hatchet.” Again, the kids commenting later have the advantage of just copying someone else’s work.

As I added the third spoon of sugar to my bowl, I remembered some of the great discussions in my classroom and how the divergent thinkers would get us sidetracked. It was great! They were putting the work into their mental environment and authentically applying it to their own experiences. By giving the blog post an opening for synthesizing or evaluating the classroom lesson, students will see a much broader answer base and have much greater room for dialoguing with thier peers about their answers.

“I don’t think Brian really wanted to go home and leave the forest. Using only information from the book up to Chapter 11, convince me that he did or didn’t want to go home. Using accountable talk, question other students about their answer with evidence you feel is appropriate.”

How can we use Bloom’s ideas in a Math teacher’s blogg? in Science? You can start discussing while I put my cereal bowl in the sink.

